Streets of Rage iPhone Release

Streets of Rage iPhone
Streets of Rage iPhone

For all of you classic game lovers, here’s a game coming to the iPhone app store that’d be sure to catch your eye. Sega has ported Streets of Rage to the iPhone and iTouch for your playing. Back in the days, this was one of the most popular beat ’em ups available. Has a price tag of $5 on it.

This game, like most other ports on the iPhone, will have a box with the game play in it, and outside have the controls for you to use on the touch screen. I played this, and I personally don’t like the controls however. I’ve had this problem with the control scheme for most games however. But moving diagonally in this game is a pain, for whatever reason. I either keep going straight or go up. And for anyone who has played this game before, they know that the enemy likes to sometimes avoid or evade you.Me being the noob that I am used one of my specials because I assumed A was to jump, but instead it’s C. Which is a bit dumb to me, but maybe you can change the controls, I don’t know, I haven’t checked. I couldn’t stomach playing that game too long, it was irritating. After continually pressing the C and B buttons simultaneously because the buttons seem too close together, in my opinion.

Secondly, I’d have to say that this game lags on my iTouch. I’m not sure if it’s just me, but I doubt it, I’ve heard others complain about it as well. It’s not painfully laggy, but it’s visibly choppy. The framerate isn’t so well. It’s almost like playing the original but in slow motion. However, the gameplay mechanics are perfectly there and the game isn’t too buggy. It’ll have everything you remember from the original version, since this is just a port after all.

If you’re a fan of the original Streets of Rage and you just NEED to have another play at this game, then I’d recommend getting it. However, if you’re a fan that wants a proper port of the game, then avoid this game at all costs. This seems like a rushed job just to score some extra bucks, by Sega. This game is laggy and the control scheme is nothing short of annoying. I’d give this game a 2 out of 5, to be honest.


Leave a Reply

